Sudbury Symphony Orchestra presents a concert of Beginnings and endings in C, June 1st, 2024

Sudbury Symphony Orchestra 2023-24 presents a concert of Beginnings and endings in C.

June 1st, 2024, 7:30 pm

Grande Salle Place des Arts de Grand Sudbury,

27 Larch St, Sudbury ON  

Click here to purchase tickets!

The Sudbury Symphony Orchestra presents a concert of Beginnings and endings in C.  Join the SSO, Artistic and Executive Director William Rowson and special guests Duo46 for the Season Finale.

The program begins with an Overture form one of Mozart’s last Operas La clemenza di Tito.  The balance of the first act features Duo46, a violin and guitar ensemble comprising of Sudbury Symphony Music Conservatory (SSMC) faculty Beth Ilana Schneider-Gould, violin and Matt Gould, guitar.  Beth, an instructor with the SSMC also sits as the SSO’s Concert Master.  Matt, also an instructor, serves as director of the SSMC.  The program ends with Ludwig Van Bettoven’s symphonic debut, the Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21.

The selections on the program showcase Beth and Matt’s mastery of the classic and modern styles with the Baroque Concerto for Violin and Guitar in A Major by Bolognese master Guiseppe Torelli.  Beth and Matt are important advocates of contemporary art music including the Histoire de Tango composed in 1985 by Ástor Piazzolla.

Beth and Matt’s recordings and performances celebrate new chamber music for guitar often composed specifically for them. Their intriguing mix of music depicts the impressions and experiences of modern-day composers, capturing an array of style and emotion with a library of literally hundreds of original twentieth-century works for violin and guitar duo Double Concertos, and Trios with Cello, Mandolin (B.A.M.), Piano (the Strung Out Trio), and Viola.

The program concludes with Beethoven’s exuberant and uplifting Symphony No. 1.  Written in 1801, it marked a new beginning for the composer. While clearly indebted to Beethoven’s predecessors, particularly his teacher Joseph Haydn as well as Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, it nonetheless has characteristics that mark it as uniquely Beethoven, giving us a glimpse of the great symphonies to come.



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart                            Overture to La clemenza di Tito


Guiseppe Torelli                                             Concerto in A major for Guitar and Violin

Matt Gould, guitar

Beth Ilana Schneider-Gould, violin


Ástor Piazzola                                                 Histoire de Tango

Matt Gould, guitar

Beth Ilana Schneider-Gould, violin




Ludwig Van Beethoven                                   Symphony No. 1 in C Major, op. 21